Pahua and the Soul Stealer by Lori M. Lee Blog tour

I am thrilled to be hosting a spot on the PAHUA AND THE SOUL STEALER by Lori M. Lee Blog Tour hosted by Rockstar Book Tours. Check out my post and make sure to enter the giveaway!

About The Book:

Title: PAHUA AND THE SOUL STEALER

Author: Lori M. Lee

Pub. Date: September 7, 2021

Publisher: Rick Riordan Presents

Formats: Hardcover, eBook, Audiobook

Pages: 320

Find it:  GoodreadsAmazon, Kindle, Audible, B&N, iBooks, Kobo, TBDBookshop.org

Best-selling author Rick Riordan presents Lori M. Lee’s middle grade debut about a lonely Hmong girl who discovers she’s a powerful shaman warrior in this fantasy inspired by Southeast Asian mythology.

Pahua Moua has a bit of a reputation for being a weirdo. A lonely eleven-year-old Hmong girl with the unique ability to see spirits, she spends her summer days babysitting her little brother and playing with her best friend, a cat spirit no one else can see.
One day Pahua accidentally untethers an angry spirit from the haunted bridge in her neighborhood–whoops. When her brother suddenly falls sick and can’t be awoken, Pahua fears that the bridge spirit has stolen his soul. She returns to the scene of the crime with her aunt’s old shaman tools, hoping to confront the spirit and demand her brother’s return. Instead, she summons a demon.

Thankfully, a warrior shaman with a bit of an attitude problem shows up at the last minute and saves her butt. With the help of this guide, Pahua will have to find her way through the spirit worlds and rescue her brother’s soul before it’s too late. Little does she know she’ll have her own discoveries to make along the way. . . .


With its unforgettable characters, unique nature-based magic system, breathtaking twists and reveals, and climactic boss battle, this story based on Hmong oral tradition offers everything a fantasy lover could want.

My review

If you are a fan of mythology than this is the perfect book for you! The magic system was so neat! I loved the characters, especially Miv the cat spirit. There is also plenty of suspense and twists to the story that keep you glued to the pages of this book! I really enjoyed this amazing fantasy and I can’t wait to read more!

About Lori:

Lori M. Lee is the author of speculative novels and short stories. Her books include PAHUA AND THE SOUL STEALER (Disney/Rick Riordan Presents), FOREST OF SOULS and the sequel BROKEN WEB (Page Street), and more. She’s also a contributor to the anthologies A THOUSAND BEGINNINGS AND ENDINGS and COLOR OUTSIDE THE LINES. She considers herself a unicorn fan, enjoys marathoning TV shows, and loves to write about magic, manipulation, and family.

Photo credit PrettyGeeky Photography.

Sign Up for Lori’s Newsletter!

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Instagram | Pinterest | Tumblr | Goodreads | Amazon | BookBub

Giveaway Details:

3 winners will win a finished copy of PAHUA AND THE SOUL STEALER, US Only.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tour Schedule:

Week One:

9/1/2021Kait Plus BooksExcerpt
9/2/2021YA Books CentralExcerpt
9/3/2021NerdophilesReview
9/4/2021BibliosiniReview

Week Two:

9/5/2021Rajiv’s ReviewsReview
9/6/2021Book-KeepingReview
9/7/2021The Bookwyrm’s DenReview
9/8/2021booksaremagictooReview
9/9/2021Sometimes Leelynn ReadsReview
9/10/2021Log Cabin LibraryReview
9/11/2021Books a Plenty Book ReviewsReview

Week Three:

9/12/2021Lifestyle of MeReview
9/13/2021Emelie’s BooksReview
9/14/2021#BRVL Book Review Virginia Lee BlogReview
9/15/2021Locks, Hooks and BooksReview
9/16/2021More Books Please blogReview
9/17/2021Discover ElysianReview
9/18/2021Don’t Judge, ReadReview

Week Four:

9/19/2021@pagesofyellowReview
9/20/2021TLC Book NookReview
9/21/2021Fyrekatz BlogReview
9/22/2021The Momma SpotReview
9/23/2021LexijavaExcerpt
9/24/2021hauntedbybooksReview
9/25/2021BookHounds YAExcerpt

Week Five:

9/26/2021A Court of Coffee and BooksReview
9/27/2021YA Book NerdExcerpt
9/28/2021PopTheButterfly ReadsReview
9/29/2021@fictitious.foxReview
9/30/2021Two Points of InterestReview

The Wicked Tree by Kristin Thorsness Blog Tour Book Review

TWTTour

TheWickedTree-ebook

The Wicked Tree by Kristin Thorsness

Publication Date:  October 8, 2019

Publisher:  Month9Books

 

 

Deep in the woods, a gnarled tree grows. Its thick, black trunk twists angrily up into the night sky. Held in place by the magic of a long-ago patriarch, it has waited centuries to lure a descendant into its trap.

 

When Tavorian Kreet and his mom move in with his great-grandmother, Tav is forbidden to go into the woods on the estate. But like most eleven-year-olds, he just can’t resist.

After secretly exploring the woods, Tav begins having dreams about a supernatural tree. Soon, the dreams change from pleasant to dark and menacing. On a dare, Tav ventures farther into the woods with his new friend, Harper. There, they meet a mysterious, mute boy named Edward who lives in a decrepit cabin nearby. Afraid, and unable to speak, Edward scrawls “Wicked Tree” on the ground.

 

Determined to help Edward, Tav enlists Harper, and they search the estate for clues to Edward’s identity and how to help him.

 

With Harper’s help, Tav pieces together the Kreet family history and discovers an ancient curse. If Tav wants to save his friends and family, he must go into the heart of the woods, find the Wicked Tree, and confront a most evil magic.

 

HE WICKED TREE, a MG dark fantasy that will appeal to fans of Jonathan Auxier’s THE NIGHT GARDENER and Mary Downing Hahn’s TOOK. If you love SERAFINA AND THE BLACK CLOAK, then THE WICKED TREE is for you!

My Review

This was such a fun, spooky mystery! I thought the characters were well written. The story was suspenseful and spooky with some humor too. I really enjoyed it!

Author Info

Kristin Thorsness

Kristin Thorsness is a former 5th and 6th grade teacher who lives in the Pacific Northwest with her husband, their son and daughter, and two spoiled dogs. She likes dark chocolate, strong coffee, and creepy stories that keep her up reading late into the night. For more info or to get in touch, visit her online at http://www.kristinthorsness.com .

Website | Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads

Tour Schedule:

http://www.chapter-by-chapter.com/tour-schedule-the-wicked-tree-by-kristin-thorsness/

 

Giveaway Info:

 

  • One (1) winner will win a Starbucks Gift Card

 

<a class=”rcptr” href=”http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/c08c9e8e777/&#8221; rel=”nofollow” data-raflid=”c08c9e8e777″ data-theme=”classic” data-template=”” id=”rcwidget_ou7sk9wa”>a Rafflecopter giveaway</a>

https://widget-prime.rafflecopter.com/launch.js